Shalom from Israel!

After a brief hiatus, and by hiatus I mean five weeks of getting settled and adjusted in Tel Aviv, Israel, I am happy to be back at the blog. Here’s a recap of what’s been happening since we last spoke.

So I moved to Israel. Well, not so much a move and more of a temporary relocation. I am studying abroad at Tel Aviv University for the next four months. Having been here for about five weeks, I am completely and totally in love with this place. From the beautiful weather to the amazing food, Israel has it all. My first month here was filled with navigating the city and of course learning some Hebrew. Sunday through Thursday from 8:30 a.m. to 1 p.m., I was busy in Ulpan, which is an intensive Hebrew course. Though the hours were long and the material was overwhelming, I managed to make it through and pick up the language pretty quickly. Now that Ulpan is over, our three-month semester will soon begin. My classes include: Israeli cinema, Jewish modern history, Jews and the Diaspora, 100 years of Israel and Hebrew. I’m excited to see how classes here compare to those in the U.S.

Exploring the city never gets old. When I’m not in class, I’ve been adventuring with my friends all over Israel. From downtown Tel Aviv (which is basically comparable to New York City) to Old Jaffa to northern regions in the Golan, I am constantly amazed with how versatile and unique each part of Israel is.

In case you’re more of a visual person, here are some highlights of my semester abroad so far. Also, for weekly updates, be sure to follow University of Florida’s abroad blog where I am a featured writer: http://bit.ly/1iZcT6g

Enjoy and stay tuned for more!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

