I’m Thankful For… My Asics

This Thanksgiving was truly a meaningful one. Not only was I able to spend it with my entire family, but I also accomplished a longtime goal: a 10k race! In the spring while I was studying in Israel, I started running long distances with my friends along the beautiful beaches of Tel Aviv. Though I’ve never been much of a runner, I would get lost in the views of the Mediterranean to my right and the city to my left. Before I knew it, I was checking off miles on two hands.

When I got home to America this summer, I knew that I wanted to make my newfound love for running official by completing a 10k race. The Turkey Chase in Bethesda, Maryland, on Thanksgiving morning was the ultimate decision, and I diligently trained in the weeks leading up. I even recruited my cousin to run alongside me.

Though I was apprehensive about running in the cold (I’m a Gator, remember?), I bundled up and hit the course on that cloudy Thursday morning. The route was hilly and more challenging than expected, but I was totally in the zone and loving every second of the race. Needless to say, it was a great way to start the day and even more rewarding when I dug into the apple pie later that night.

me

Leave a Reply

